Messengers and apps save files by themselves
A number of applications that we use frequently have automatic file downloads enabled. WhatsApp saves all photos and videos sent to you by interlocutors, Instagram – pictures with branded filters. In a year, one of these “daddies” may well fill 10-15 gigabytes.
You can turn off file saving in each application. The most flexible settings for saving cache are in WhatsApp. Go to “Settings” -> “Data and Storage”. You will see the “Auto-upload media” section and will be able to manage the saving of files – they may not be moved to the phone memory at all or saved, but only when Wi-Fi is connected.
To delete the downloaded data, go to the file manager or just the “Files” application (the name depends on the smartphone firmware). Typically, it has a separate application-specific folder. And delete all unnecessary data.
Too much cache
Photo: © LIFE
Apps collect small amounts of data to run faster, avoid wasting traffic and download them from the Internet every time. Photos of users on social networks, their avatars, posts and even banner ads. They will not “eat up” a lot of space, but they may well take up several hundred megabytes.
Almost every browser, social media or mobile game application allows you to control how cache is saved. You can reset it in the program settings, as a rule, in the memory and saved files section.
Photo: © LIFE
Photos and videos fill the smartphone’s memory more than other data. Moreover, some of the photos are random screenshots. In smartphones of the past two years, a screenshot is taken by simultaneously pressing the volume rocker and the power button.
Unfortunately, we have not yet found a solution to the problem – on an iPhone without frames this is the only way to take a screenshot, the manufacturers of Android smartphones offer an alternative command – swipe down with three fingers, but you cannot turn off the screenshot by simultaneously pressing the rocker and the power button.
Therefore, the only way not to clog up memory is to consistently clean the gallery. In addition, photos can be stored in Google Photos – the pictures will be saved, will be available from different devices and will not take up space on the drive.
An unsolvable problem
Photo: © Needpix.com
Settings -> General -> iPhone Storage. You will see the “other” section, and the files stored in it also clog up memory. They can take up to 80% of your smartphone’s memory, depending on the duration of use.
The problem is that the files in this folder are useless and cannot be deleted. Roughly speaking, this is the junk that iOS accumulates during operation.
There is only one way to remove it – by completely updating the firmware on the iPhone. The trouble is that after this operation it is impossible to restore the backup. Should you sacrifice all your data for free storage space? Think before deciding on this procedure.
A safer solution is to upload all the necessary data to the cloud and upload it back manually. It will take longer, but you will free up cherished gigabytes.
Photo: © LIFE
This option is not available in all smartphones, depending on the firmware. When you delete files, they are not erased irrevocably, but go to the trash, and are deleted only after a certain time – in iOS after 30 days, in Samsung One UI after 15 days.
The advantage of this option is the reliability of the system. If you accidentally deleted a file, there will be time to restore it. Minus – when you urgently need to free up memory, you will have to delete more files and applications than if the “Trash” function was disabled.
A source: udf.by